Parochial Church Council

The PCC is elected annually at the Annual Parochial Meeting which usually takes place in April/May. To be elected on to the PCC, a person needs to be on the electoral roll, over 16 years of age, consent to being appointed and should have received communion at least three times in the previous year.

Brief overview – In the long history of the Church of England, the Parochial Church Council (PCC) is a relatively recent invention. Until the early years of the 20th century the administration and finances of a parish were the legal responsibility of the incumbent and the churchwardens. The members of congregations had little say in the running of the church except in electing the churchwardens. They now also elect members of the PCC and the PCC is a democratically elected body responsible to church members, who are registered on the electoral roll. Parochial Church Councils were first given legal status in 1919. Since then a number of Acts have defined and refined the composition, functions and rights and responsibilities of the PCC.

PCC Members

Vicar (Chair): Rev Amanda Bruce

Assistant Minister: Rev Jackie Parry

Churchwardens: Debbie Burke and John Turner

Vice Chair: Lesley Deninson

Treasurer: Caroline Ramsey

Secretary: Keith Cawdron

Deanery Synod Reps:
Keith Cawdon, Zorina Jones, Caroline Ramsey, Colin Stephens, Lucy Wilton

Lay Reader Rep: Keith Cawdron

Other PCC Members:
Irene Curwen, Lesley Deninson, Jessica Dent, Barry Fell, Colin Gill, Michelle Heaps, Jan Holmes, Steve Matthews, Lyn Newsham, Chris Parsons, Stephanie Scaife, Kirsten Sothmann, Emma Turner-Bone, Rosemary Turner, Lucy Wilton

Agenda for next PCC Meeting